Posted by: Valentino Radman | April 25, 2014

Digitisation of the Croatian Art Nouveau


Thanks to the international project of digitization of European heritage – Partage Plus, more than 5.000 objects from the Croatian Art Nouveau period is available online on leading internet portal for culture of the European Union – Europeana. 

Art Nouveau, one of the last universal styles reflected in all branches of art was inspired by nature, with identifiable curvilinear form and ornamentation of flat lines on the facades of buildings and on everyday use items. It became the characteristic of the time that aspired to combine art and craft and at the turn of the century to unite Europe in a single unique artistic style. Although in time somewhat forgotten because of the styles of Modernism, Secession is now more popular than ever. It is well represented in museum collections, archives, libraries and buildings throughout Europe, and is known under the names of Art Nouveau, Liberty Style, Modernism, Secession, Arte Nova, Style 1900 and Jugendstil.

The object of Partage Plus – Digitising and Enabling Art Nouveau for Europeana was to unite and digitize the whole of European heritage of the Art Nouveau period and make it more familiar to the large European public. In this project, more than 75.000 Art Nouveau objects, artworks, posters, and buildings and 2.000 3D models has been digitized. Croatia has contributed to the project with 5176 objects and 135 3D models.


Three Graces, 1918


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s


%d bloggers like this: